How to think about manipulating strings?

I'm very new to AA and am studying and setting myself puzzles. The first one is processing an incoming email. When I receive an email, I find the $Email From$ variable contains "John Smith smith@example.com". What I need is just the email address ... which means that I need to do some string processing.

As I study, I'm not yet sure how to approach this. It appears I may have options. For example, I see a command called "Run Script" that seems to allow me to run a JavaScript ... and in JavaScript I could achieve this processing quite easily.

Another possibility would be to use the "Replace Command" which seems to allow me to jump into RegEx programming (with all that entails).

A final possibility (at least as I see it) would be to try and create multiple commands using conditional logic at the command level by looking for "" and substringing based on that or using the whole string if not found.

My question/puzzle to the community is how should one go about thinking about puzzles like these?

Comments

• Hi, I would be inclined to use the tools that are provided with AA. Namely use the String Operation Find command on $Email From$ with regex (\w+@\w+.\w+) - assign to the clipboard. This will give you the character position for the beginning of the email address (x@). Then use the String Operation Substring using the $Clipboard$ as the position character and leave the rest blank but assign it to a variable. That will give you the complete email address.
    However, there is a much simpler way! Use the String Operation Split command to give it the $Email From$ string delimited by " ". Start a loop command and check the List and select my-list-variable.
    Now do a variable operation within the loop, assigning $Email From$ to $my-list-variable$.
    After the loop, use the message box command to output $Email From$. You should have the email address.
    Hope that helps.